The IEC 61511 standard recommends the use of a functional safety lifecycle. Any safety lifecycle can be used, but the standard lays out a process which can be divided into three main classifications as an example. 

The lifecycle is set up like this: 

  1. Analyze the situation and document the safety requirements (Analysis Phases). 
  2. Translate these requirements into a documented safety system design, using appropriate software and hardware subsystems and design methodology (Realization Phases). 
  3. Evaluate the system against the required integrity and reliability specifications and modify it as needed. 
  4. Operate and maintain the system according to accepted procedures (Operation Phases), and document the results to insure that performance standards are maintained throughout the system’s life.

Safety LifecycleThe 2016 edition to the standard addresses cybersecurity in the lifecycle and how it is becoming more and more of a concern. 

Related Items

Back to Basics 01 - Functional Safety

Back to Basics 02 - Safety Integrity Level (SIL)

Back to Basics 03 - Safety Instrumented Function (SIF)

Back to Basics 04 - Safety Instrumented System (SIS)

Back to Basics 05 - What is a Safety Function?

Back to Basics 06 – IEC 61508

Back to Basics 07– Safety Lifecycle – IEC 61508

Back to Basics 08 – IEC 61511

Tagged as:     safety lifecycle     Loren Stewart     IEC 61511     Back to Basics  

Other Blog Posts By Loren Stewart