The IEC 61508 standard recommends the use of a functional safety lifecycle. Any safety lifecycle can be used, but the standard does lay out a nominal 16-step process which can be divided into three main classifications as an example. 

The Analysis phase of the lifecycle deals with gathering background information to identify and specify the needs for the system. The Realisation phase concerns system design and fabrication, while the Operation phase deals with using and maintaining the system properly during its operating life.

The Safety Lifecycle

Related Items

Back to Basics 01 - Functional Safety

Back to Basics 02 - Safety Integrity Level (SIL)

Back to Basics 03 - Safety Instrumented Function (SIF)

Back to Basics 04 - Safety Instrumented System (SIS)

Back to Basics 05 - What is a Safety Function?

Back to Basics 06 – IEC 61508

Tagged as:     safety lifecycle     Loren Stewart     IEC 61508     Back to Basics  

Other Blog Posts By Loren Stewart