Do you want to know more about IEC 61508 certification, but you’re not sure if you are ready to jump in? Don’t worry, we will make this process as painless as possible.

Here is what to expect:

  1. Introduce Scope
  2. Kickoff Meeting
  3. Perform FMEDA on Product
  4. Creation of the Proven-In-Use Analysis
  5. Process Analysis – Safety Case
  6. On-Site Audit
  7. Certification Audit

In our first chat, we will:

  • Answer any questions you have about getting certified.
  • Discuss the process and expectations for the project.
  • Send you an application. (This is where we will ask things like, is it one product or a family? Does it have internal diagnostics? Does it have historical data or is it a new product?)
  • Review product information / product bulletin. 

After that first chat, when we both know the scope of the certification, we can provide you with a proposal of work. Once accepted, we will schedule a Kickoff meeting, where we will discuss all the documentation we will need.

Once we have some of your documentation, we can start the FMEDA Analysis on Product, create the Proven-In-Use Analysis (if using historical data for your certification), and then begin the Process Analysis against the requirement of the standard.

Next comes the on-site audit. This is where someone from exida will come to your facility to work on completing the Process Analysis, showing each way you comply with the requirements of the standard.

If there are any gaps or details missing after the on-site, we will issue an action item list for you and help you understand why there are gaps or what exactly is missing.

After each requirement is met, and all gaps or actions are closed, the Process Analysis is complete and handed off to a 2nd assessor, and when they agree with the 1st assessor, you will receive your certificate and assessment report.

The exida IEC 61508 Certification Program offers the most comprehensive product review of any Certification Body (CB) resulting in products that are safer, more secure, easier to use, and more reliable.

For a list of current certificates, see The Safety Automation Equipment List  

Related Items

Back to Basics 01 - Functional Safety

Back to Basics 02 - Safety Integrity Level (SIL)

Back to Basics 03 - Safety Instrumented Function (SIF)

Back to Basics 04 - Safety Instrumented System (SIS)

Back to Basics 05 - What is a Safety Function?

Back to Basics 06 – IEC 61508

Back to Basics 07– Safety Lifecycle – IEC 61508

Back to Basics 08 – IEC 61511

Back to Basics 09 – Safety Lifecycle – IEC 61511

Back to Basics 10 – How Does a Product Get a SIL?

Back to Basics 11 – How is SIL Used by an End User?

Back to Basics 12 – What is IEC 61508 Certification?

Tagged as:     Loren Stewart     IEC 61508     functional safety     certification     back to basics  

Other Blog Posts By Loren Stewart